How To Use The User Management Page - Amazon

Overview

The User Management page allows leaders and supervisors in an organization to create new users and set up roles with specific permission access. The User Management page is only accessible to Super Admin, Admin, and Leader level users. There are three key actions that is performed on the User Management Page: Creating Roles, Creating Users and Configuring Data Settings

Why This Feature is Important?

Certain staff members within an organization may just need limited access and permissions to certain parts of Pacvue. The User Management page allows Pacvue users to set up appropriate permissions to specific users.

Creating Roles

Roles are used in the user creation process. Create roles to assign specific permissions to groups of users.

Step 1: Navigate to the User Management page by hovering over your username and clicking on “User Management”.

Step 2: Click on Add New Role.

Step 3: Assign permission management for the role. You can assign the role access to specific platforms and sections within the platform.
Role Permissions Role Use Cases

 
Users can select whether a section of Pacvue in a platform is view access, edit access, or removed. Note that the Authorization Profile and Home page cannot be removed. Those pages can be set to view acces or edit access.

Adding User

Super admin, admin, and leader user types are able to add additional users into the account. See the below table for a summary of the permissions for each user level.

User Type Subordinate User Level Create Users Edit Permissions Delete Users Create Roles Modify Data Sharing
Super Admin Admin, Leader, Staff Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Admin Leader, Staff Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Leader Staff Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Staff None No No No No No
  • User management actions such as deleting users and editing permissions can be performed on subordinate user levels. Super Admin can perform those actions across all users. Admin and Leader users can perform that action on subordinate users within their group.
  • When a user is deleted their automation ownership will transfer to the superior user in their group. Example, a staff user that is deleted will have ownership of their rules transfer to their superior Leader user in their group.

Admin Level Users
The Admin Level user type is nuanced in that it can be configured to have varying degrees of permission. Admins can be set on platform-by-platform basis where you designate an admin for each platform or you can create an all-access admin user.

Platform Admin
Platform Admin is the default admin type. In this setting you can designate a user to have admin level access for specific platform(s). A single user can be designated an admin for multiple platforms. 

When setting up a platform level Admin you need to set the below configurations.

  1. Select the platform that a user should be designated an admin for. Note that there can only be one admin per platform.
  2. Configure the permissions for platforms where the user is not the admin.

All-Access Admin
When setting up an Admin user you can enable All-Access Mode (1) to create a level of access that replicates Super Admin access. In that the user will have admin level access across all platforms. 

Users can be created individually, in bulk by pasting an e-mail list, or in bulk via an excel upload template. Note that bulk methods can only create Staff and Leader level users. Admin level users can only be created through the Individual method.

Individual UserBulk ManuallyBulk Template
Step 1: Navigate to the User Management page by hovering over your username and click on “Add Users”.
Step 2: Input user information and permission configuration.
Staff/Leader User CreationAdmin User Creation

  1. Input a username, e-mail, and password. The e-mail will be used for password reset request.
  2. Select between "Set Password for User" or "Invite User Via Email".
    • Set Password For User: The user will not be automatically notified about the creation of their user account. You must manually notify the user to provide them with their username and password. The doesn't go through an e-mail verification process, but they'll be prompted to verify their e-mail when they log into Pacvue.
    • Invite User via Email: The user will automatically receive an e-mail invitation to activate their user account and set up their own password. The user will go through the e-mail verification process.
  3. Input the User Type. There are 3 different user types: Admin, Leader, and Staff. (Note that there is a 4th user type, Super Admin, that is set when the Pacvue account is created)
  4. Select the Superior user. The Superior user is the user that will have permissions control ability for the user. The Superior user setting is an essential part of creating an organization structure to configure data sharing. You can click on the "View Organizational Structure" button to view an organizational chart visual.
  5. Role is only selected for Staff and Leader User Types. Select from available Roles that have been set up.
  6. Select which profiles the user will have access to.
  7. Select which tags a user has access to (Optional Setting).
  8. Select which SOV groups that the user will have access to (Optional Setting).

E-mail Verification

E-mail verification is part of the user creation process. When a user is created in bulk via an e-mail invite they automatically go through an e-mail verification process. Users created through the individual process do not automatically go through an e-mail verification process. However, they will receive a popup to verify their e-mail when they first log into the platform.

For user accounts created through the individual process verifying the e-mail is optional. However, e-mail verification has the following benefits and is recommended:

  • Once an e-mail is verified you can log into Pacvue with either your username or e-mail address. Unverified users can only log in using their username.
  • Users with verified e-mails can have access to multiple Pacvue client entities. When verified e-mail users log into Pacvue they'll be able to select which specific client entity they want to log into.

Organization Structure & Configure Data Setting

The organization structure is the hierarchy of users in your organization. It is created by organizing Staff level users under Leader level users through the Superior setting of a user. Setting up an organization structure is an important set up when it comes to data settings configuration for segmenting the access of rules, tags and other assets to specific teams in your organization. Below are some common use cases when setting up the organization structure:

  • Organizing staff users into different teams that work on specific brands.
  • Organizing staff users into different teams based on the markets that they manage. US team, CA Team, EU Team, etc.

The organization structure can be viewed on the lefthand side of the user management page. Note that the organization structure visual is only visible to Super Admin and Admin level users. Super Admins will see all organization structures while Admins will only see the organization structure where they are listed as the superior.
User Management_Organization Structure_1.png

Once your organization structure is set up and your team is organized under Leader level users then you can configure your Data Settings. Data Settings allows Super Admin and Admin users to configure how tags and rules are shared between groups of Staff users organized under a Leader user.

Below is an example of how organizational struture plays a role in data sharing settings. In the organizational structure staff users are organized into two team: Team A and Team B. Some users may want Team A and Team B to have visibility of rules and tags across teams. Other users may want Team A and Team B to have siloed access so users within Team A can share rules and tags within their team, but not with Team B and vice versa.

Data Sharing Enabled - Team A and Team B share data

Data Sharing Disabled - Team A and Team B do not share data across teams

Follow the below steps to configure your data sharing settings to either share data across team or create team silos.

Step 1: On the User Management page click on Data Settings

Step 2: Set up data sharing settings between teams.

  • Toggle data sharing on so that users are able to see rules and tags of other users. Toggle data sharing off so that users cannot see data outside their own group.
  • See the list of subordinate users that would be affected by the data setting.
  • Customize Rule and Tag permission settings. Rules and Tag can be set to View or View and Edit by platform.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.